What is the Anonymisation tool?
The Anonymisation tool is a feature that allows the HR administrator to anonymise employee data, remove audits, user links, and documents related to an employee, making GDPR compliance easier.
Please note that once data has been anonymised and/or deleted via the Anonymisation tool function, it cannot be reverted and retrieved.
To be able to use the Anonymisation tool, you need the permission set HR_Employee_GDPR.
You must also set the number of days after termination for which an employee's data must be kept. You can find this in Settings > Payroll > Employee Settings.
The default number of days is 3650, or 10 years, as per Maltese law regarding GDPR requirements.
Where can I find it?
The Anonymisation tool is in the actions bar of the Employees screen. Look for the hat and glasses icon.
The Anonymisation Modal
Clicking the anonymisation icon brings up the Anonymise Data modal, which contains a list of anonymising actions that the user will have to choose from. Depending on the settings and if the current year is still the same as the termination year, some options may not be available for selection.
Anonymise Data Actions
Change Employee Code: you can change the employee's code here. (Note: You may want to use this any time and not just when an employee has been terminated.)
Anonymise Employee Data: this will anonymise the employee's Name, Middle Name, Surname. It will delete the employee's ID Card No, Tax Registration No., Nationality, Citizenship, Partner ID no, Social Security No, Company Bank Account, Bank, Iban, Beneficiary FullName, All Contact Details & Emergency Contact Details, Remarks, and any split payments items. It will also change the Payment type to Manual and the Payslip method to Print.
Delete Payslips: all payslips for the employee will be deleted and cannot be retrieved.
Delete FS3: all FS3s for the employee will be deleted and cannot be retrieved. Upon deleting FS3 files, FS7 and Electronic Lodgement data cannot be processed for the years in which the employee was employed.
Delete Document Manager Files: all files in Document Manager for the employee will be deleted and cannot be retrieved.
Unlink and Delete User: the employee's Indigo user will be unlinked from their employee profile and deleted, ensuring they can no longer access the Indigo Portal.
Clean Audit Files: all personal data that could identify the employee will be replaced in the Audit files with the text 'Anonymised data'.
Using the Anonymisation Tool
Select the employee to be anonymised from the Employees screen.
Click the Anonymisation icon to open the Anonymise Data modal.
Select the actions required and press Process.
A message will pop up to remind you that the action cannot be undone and any information lost cannot be retrieved. Click Yes to continue and No to cancel.
If you click Yes, the pop-up and modal will close. A message will show in the bottom right of Indigo, advising that you will be notified once the anonymisation has finished.
When selecting Anonymise Employee Data, you will immediately be prompted with a reminder of all the fields that will be anonymised, removed, and changed using this action. Click Confirm to continue, or Cancel to deselect the action.